VegHead Profile: Julia Ormond

Julia is a member of my graduating class at Dickinson College, and I got to know her through mutual friends when I lived in the Treehouse. Whenever I’m around her, she exudes a genuine and calm but also energetic and cheery aura. I think Julia makes the world a better place just by being herself. In this VegHead Profile, she shares the reasons she’s been eating more plants, her goals for traveling, and what she hopes comes next after graduation

Quick Facts

Name: Julia Ormond

VegHead Status: Vegan-ish

Age: 22

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Oakland, California, USA

Current Location: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Occupation: Student at Dickinson College, WDCV-FM Station Manager, Whistlestop Bookshop employee

Companion Animals: Java, a chocolate Labrador puppy who is almost 1 year old and is very much a wild animal toddler.

Read moreVegHead Profile: Julia Ormond

VegHead Profile: Emma Caplan

Quick Facts

Name: Emma Caplan

VegHead Status: Vegetarian

Age: 22

Pronouns: She/Her/Hers

Hometown: Portland, Oregon, USA

Current Location: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

Occupation: Undergrad Student at Dickinson College

Companion Animal(s): I currently have one dog, a Corgi named Ruby who I raised from a puppy. She lives with my parents since I don’t live at home. I also have a horse named CC, and when I was younger I learned how to ride her and I rode her for years. We basically grew up together because she has been with me all of my life, and she is the first companion animal I ever had.

Ruby the Corgi
CC the horse

Read moreVegHead Profile: Emma Caplan

VegHead Profile: Rachael Moore

Rachael Moore graduated from Dickinson College in the summer of 2018, and for the year before that she was our house “mom” at the Treehouse, or Center for Sustainable Living, at Dickinson. I had a chance to visit her last July at the Rodale Institute in Kutztown, Pennsylvania, during their field day, and see her passion for agriculture in action. I think of her as a huge proponent for self-care and wellness, as well as a master of aesthetic sustainability. Read on to learn how being diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes changed Rachael’s relationship with food and our food system, what’s on her travel bucketlist, and the experience that turned her towards vegetarianism.

Quick Facts:

Name: Rachael Moore
VegHead Status: Vegetarian + Conscious Consumer
Age: 23
Pronouns: She/Her/Hers
Hometown: Muncy, Pennsylvania, USA
Current Location: Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Occupation: I work as a Research Technician. I’m assisting a group of researchers in studying organic and conventional agriculture, and I think I’m pretty lucky to wake up and do it every day!
Companion Animal(s): I have a cat named Ginger. She was 4 months old and living as a barn kitten when I adopted her. Living alone can be lonely and she has been an exciting addition to my apartment.

Read moreVegHead Profile: Rachael Moore

VegHead Profile: Rachel Imlay

For my very first Veghead Profile, I’d like to introduce you to Rachel, who I first met our freshman year of high school in Stuttgart, Germany. She had a major impact on my high school experience and opened my eyes to a lot of social justice issues, like those of the LGBTQ+ community and women. She’s a vegetarian world traveler with a degree in Politics and International Relations from Kingston University in London. Here she recounts why she transitioned to a meat-free lifestyle, gives a handy tip on reusable facial wipes, and tells us what’s next in her life.

Quick Facts

Name: Rachel Imlay

Veghead Status: Vegetarian

Age: 20

Pronouns: She/Her

Hometown: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA/Stuttgart, Germany? I grew up all over cause I was a military kid!

Current Location: Colorado, USA, soon to be Australia!

Occupation: Retail Worker/Professional Avoider of Adult Responsibilities

Read moreVegHead Profile: Rachel Imlay